FloridaBackupPower

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Estimate Power Station Recharge Time Easily

Short answer: To estimate recharge time for a portable power station, divide the battery capacity in watt-hours by the charging input wattage. For wall charging, use the AC input figure; for solar, use the panel wattage figure. The result is a rough number of hours. A listing states both figures, but the real time depends on details the listing does not state, so read the maker's manual for the stated figure.

Capacity and Input Figures on a Listing

A portable power station listing usually states the battery capacity in watt-hours and the charging input in watts. The EIA explains that electricity is measured in units of power called watts; watt-hours describe the energy capacity. Together, the two figures let you estimate recharge time. The relationship between the two is explained in watt-hours versus watts.

A listing may show several input figures: an AC input wattage for wall charging and a max solar input wattage for panels. Both appear in the listing title or the bullet list. The AC figure gives the fastest estimate from a wall outlet; the solar figure gives an estimate under ideal sun. Some listings also mention a car charging input, a USB-C input, or a dual charging input that combines AC and solar. Each input has its own wattage figure, and each gives a different estimate.

The Basic Recharge Time Formula

The basic estimate is capacity divided by input wattage. Take the watt-hour figure and divide it by the input wattage in watts; the result is a rough number of hours from empty to full.

Example arithmetic: 1,000Wh divided by 200W gives 5 hours. A 2,000Wh unit divided by 500W gives 4 hours. These are examples of the arithmetic, not the maker's stated recharge times. Real charging includes losses; see charging efficiency for what a listing does not state.

  • Find the capacity in watt-hours on the listing.
  • Find the AC input wattage or the max solar input wattage.
  • Divide the capacity by the input wattage.
  • Use the result as a rough estimate, not a promise.

AC Recharge Estimate in General Terms

For wall charging, the AC input wattage is the figure to use. Divide the capacity by that wattage to get the quickest estimate. The real time is usually longer: charging has some losses, and the final part of the charge slows down. The maker's manual states the expected recharge figure for that unit.

A listing may state the AC input as a range, such as "a 200W to 400W input." In that case, the higher figure gives the shorter estimate and the lower figure gives the longer estimate. The manual states the typical figure for the unit.

Solar Recharge Estimate from Panel Wattage

For solar, the listing shows a max solar input wattage. Dividing the capacity by that figure gives an estimate for ideal conditions. A panel's real output depends on the sun, the angle, and the conditions, which the listing does not state. The maker's page and the panel specs describe those conditions. The solar input figure explains the term in more detail.

If a listing shows a bundle with a certain panel wattage, use that panel figure in the formula. A panel rated at 200W in ideal sun will not always put out 200W; clouds, shade, and angle reduce it. The estimate is for the ideal case.

What a Listing Does Not State About Recharge

A listing states the capacity and the input wattage, but it does not state the charger's efficiency, the temperature range, or how the charge slows near the end. The manual lists those details.

The formula gives a planning figure, not a measured promise. The maker's manual and the maker's page state the expected recharge time for that unit. The listing is the shopping document; the manual is the operation document.

  • Charging efficiency and losses.
  • The temperature range (the manual lists it).
  • The slow final stage of charging.
  • Whether the input figure is the maximum or a typical value.
  • The actual recharge time for that unit.

Example: Two Listings Side by Side

A quick example shows how the arithmetic works when you compare two listings. Listing A states 1,000Wh capacity and a 200W AC input. Listing B states 1,200Wh capacity and a 250W AC input. For Listing A, dividing 1,000 by 200 gives 5 hours; for Listing B, dividing 1,200 by 250 gives about 4.8 hours. The higher input wattage shortens the estimate even when the capacity is larger.

The same comparison works for solar. If Listing A shows a 200W panel in the bundle and Listing B shows a 300W panel in the bundle, the arithmetic estimate changes. These examples are arithmetic, not the makers' stated figures.

Arithmetic Estimate Example
ListingCapacity (Wh)AC Input (W)Rough Estimate (hours)
A1,0002005
B1,2002504.8

Using the Estimate When You Shop

When comparing two listings, the one with the higher input wattage gives a faster arithmetic recharge estimate at the same capacity. Use the estimate as one of the stated details, next to capacity, AC output, and features. The guides compare these figures side by side.

Plan before the season. The Florida Division of Emergency Management Plan & Prepare page and the NWS hurricane plan page describe the preparation steps to take before a storm, and they are good reading alongside your shopping.

A Note on the Manual and the Maker's Page

The formula gives a rough estimate, but the manual states the maker's expected recharge time for AC and for solar panels. The manual also lists the temperature range for charging and any notes about the charge speed near the end of the cycle. When you read a listing, keep the manual or the maker's page close by.

Anker SOLIX and BLUETTI pages show capacity and input figures in their listings, as do EcoFlow pages. Each maker publishes the manual on their site, and the figure in the manual is the one to trust for planning.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want the fastest arithmetic recharge estimate from a wall outletA unit with a higher stated AC input wattageBest Portable Power Stations for Hurricanes (2026): 15 Picks
You want the fastest arithmetic recharge estimate from solar panelsA unit with a higher stated max solar inputBest Solar Generators for Florida (2026): 13 Picks
You live in an apartment or condo and want a mid-size unitA mid-size power stationBest Power Station for Apartments (2026): 15 Picks
You want a large-capacity unitA 3,000Wh class power stationBest 3000Wh Power Stations for Home Backup (2026): 15 Picks
You prefer the EcoFlow brand familyAn EcoFlow power stationBest EcoFlow Power Stations for Florida (2026): 15 Picks
You prefer the Jackery brand familyA Jackery power stationBest Jackery Power Stations for Florida (2026): 15 Picks

Questions

What does AC input wattage mean on a listing?

It is the wattage the unit accepts from a wall outlet to recharge its battery. Dividing the capacity in watt-hours by this figure gives a rough recharge estimate in hours. See AC charging time for the term.

Why is the real recharge time longer than the formula result?

Charging has losses, and the final part of a charge slows down. The maker's manual states the expected figure for the unit.

What does max solar input mean?

It is the most wattage the unit can accept from solar panels. A panel's real output depends on sun and angle, so the estimate is for ideal conditions.

Should I use this formula to compare two listings?

Use it as one of the stated details. The higher input wattage gives a faster estimate, and the maker's manual confirms the figure.

Does the formula promise a recharge time?

It is an arithmetic estimate, not a promise. The manual and the maker's page state the actual figure.

What if the listing shows two input figures?

Use the one for the input you plan to use. For a wall outlet, use the AC input; for solar panels, use the max solar input. The manual states the expected figure for each.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides