FloridaBackupPower

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Power Station Output Plug Types: NEMA, C13, and More

Short answer: Output plug types describe the shapes of the AC receptacles on a power station. The most common is NEMA 5-15R, the standard household outlet, which accepts the flat two- or three-prong plug found on most small appliances. Some stations add a C13 outlet for computer-style cords, a TT-30R outlet for RVs, or higher-voltage receptacles for larger appliances. The plug type does not tell you how much power a station can deliver; that is the watts figure in the listing, read separately.

What output plug types mean in a listing

When a power station listing mentions '2 AC outlets' or names a receptacle type such as '5-15R' or 'TT-30R,' it is describing the shapes of the sockets on the unit. The plug type tells you which power cords fit without an adapter. It does not tell you how much power the station can deliver; that is the watts figure in the title.

Read the plug type together with the continuous AC output and the capacity in watt-hours before comparing stations. The socket shape and the watts figure are separate facts, and both appear in the listing in different words. The site's Learn article on watts versus watt-hours explains the capacity figure in more detail.

NEMA 5-15R: the household standard

NEMA 5-15R is the standard household receptacle used across North America. It accepts the flat two- or three-prong plug found on most small appliances, lamps, phone chargers and entertainment equipment. When a listing says 'AC outlets' without a type name, that shape is usually what it means.

If the appliances you plan to connect use a standard household plug, a station with NEMA 5-15R receptacles accepts those cords directly, with no adapter. The guide to power stations for Florida apartments lists stations that mostly use this type.

NEMA 5-20R: the T-shaped receptacle

NEMA 5-20R is a household receptacle with one vertical slot and one horizontal slot on the neutral side. Some appliances come with a matching T-shaped plug that fits this receptacle but not the standard 5-15R. If an appliance you own has a horizontal neutral prong, it is designed for this socket.

A listing may name this type directly, or it may appear in the image set without being named in the title. When it is not stated, the maker's page is the place to confirm the receptacle type.

C13 and C14: the device connector

C13 and C14 are the names of the rectangular connectors used on desktop computers, monitors and many small electronics. C14 is the recessed inlet on the back of a device; C13 is the end of the detachable power cord that plugs into it. Some power stations include a C13 outlet so you can connect a standard computer-style cord directly.

If your home office equipment uses the same detachable cord as a desktop computer, a station with a C13 outlet accepts that cord without a separate adapter. The station's watts figure still decides whether the connected equipment receives enough power, so read that figure next to the plug type.

TT-30R: the RV outlet

TT-30R is the round receptacle used at RV parks and on many camping hookups. Power stations that include this outlet are often described in the listing as 'RV ready.' An RV or a portable camping appliance with a matching plug connects directly to this receptacle.

For a vacation home or a second property where you keep an RV, a station with a TT-30R outlet matches the plugs already on that equipment. The portable power station guide for hurricanes includes stations with this receptacle.

Higher-voltage outlets: NEMA 6 and NEMA 14

Some larger power stations include receptacles for higher-voltage appliances. The NEMA 6 series uses round pins for equipment such as certain tools, while the NEMA 14 series is the large four-slot receptacle associated with electric ranges, dryers and some electric vehicle chargers. Makers describe stations in this class as 120V and 240V output, as on the BLUETTI and Anker SOLIX pages.

A station with a 240V receptacle is a different class from a small battery unit. If you are comparing stations for whole-home backup, read the watts figure and the receptacle list together. The 3000Wh power station guide for home backup covers this tier.

What a listing does and does not tell you

A listing may state '3 AC outlets' without naming each receptacle type. The image set and the bullet list usually show the shapes, and the maker's page lists the exact NEMA or IEC designations. When a type is not stated, treat it as unconfirmed and check the maker's description before buying.

The plug type never tells you how much power the station can hold or deliver. Compare the continuous AC output in watts and the capacity in watt-hours separately from the receptacle list. The peak versus continuous watts article explains how the two figures differ.

Before you buy: check the plugs you already own

Look at the ends of the power cords on the appliances you expect to connect. A standard household plug fits a 5-15R; a T-shaped plug fits a 5-20R; a computer-style cord fits a C13; an RV-style plug fits a TT-30R. Matching the receptacle to the plug avoids buying an adapter later.

Also read the appliance label for its power requirement and the station's stated output to see whether the station can supply it. The EIA's 'Measuring electricity' page explains the difference between watts and watt-hours, and the maker's manual lists the output details for each receptacle.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You live in an apartment and all your appliances use standard household plugsA power station with NEMA 5-15R outletsBest Power Station for Apartments (2026): 15 Picks
You work from home and want to connect a desktop computer and monitorA station with a C13 outletBest Power Stations with UPS for Florida (2026): 15 Picks
You keep an RV or camping gear and want a matching plugA station with a TT-30R outletBest Portable Power Stations for Hurricanes (2026): 15 Picks
You need higher-voltage output for a range, dryer or EV chargerA large power station with 240V receptaclesBest 3000Wh Power Stations for Home Backup (2026): 15 Picks
You have an appliance with a T-shaped plugA station with a NEMA 5-20R outletBest Portable Power Stations for Hurricanes (2026): 15 Picks
You are deciding between a generator and a power stationCompare both in the main backup power guideBest Backup Power for Florida (2026): Best Generator for Florida Homes

Questions

What is the difference between a plug type and the watts figure?

The plug type describes the shape of the socket on a power station. The watts figure describes how much power the station can deliver. They are separate facts in a listing, and a plug type never tells you how much power is available.

Can any appliance connect to a NEMA 5-15R outlet?

Only appliances with a plug that fits that shape can connect directly. The station's stated output in watts must also be enough for the appliance's power requirement, which appears on the appliance label. Read both before buying.

What does 'RV ready' mean in a listing?

It usually means the station includes a TT-30R receptacle, the round outlet used at RV parks and on camping hookups. The maker's page states the exact receptacle type.

Why do some stations list 120V and 240V output?

Larger stations may include both standard household receptacles and higher-voltage receptacles for appliances such as ranges, dryers and certain tools. The maker's page lists which receptacles are included.

Does the plug type tell me how long a station will last?

No. How long a station can supply power depends on its capacity in watt-hours and the load connected to it. The plug type only describes the socket shape.

What if the listing does not name the receptacle type?

Check the image set and the maker's page. If the type is not stated, treat it as unconfirmed and verify before buying.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides