FloridaBackupPower

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Best Generator Under $500 for Florida (2026): 5 Picks

The WEN 4500-Watt Inverter Generator leads this list because its title states the most details: a 3,000 to 5,000 W figure, RV-ready, a CO sensor and gasoline fuel. The 5 picks here are compared on the details each listing title states and on live prices, ranked by how many details the title names.

5 picks from 5 generators that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 14 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.

The picks at a glance

Which one should you buy?

  • For a single-family house before hurricane season: A gasoline inverter with a stated 3,000 to 5,000 W figure and a CO sensor, like the WEN 4500-Watt, gives a starting point for comparing appliance labels. See pick 1
  • For a home with close neighbors: The titles here all name inverter generators. Noise figures are on the maker's page, not in the catalogue. See pick 2
  • For a house on a propane tank: The A-iPower and PowerSmart titles name dual fuel, so the seller states gasoline and propane as fuel options. See pick 3
  • For a condo or apartment where fuel is not an option: This guide covers fuel generators only. Battery power stations have their own guides on this site. See pick 5

The 5 picks

1 Most stated details in this list

WEN 4500-Watt Inverter Generator

WEN 4500-Watt Inverter Generator

Type
Inverter
Fuel
Gasoline
Watts
3000 to 5000 W
RV ready
Yes
CO sensor
Yes

$494.99 (as of 10/17/2026 12:31 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

The title states the most details of any pick here: a 3,000 to 5,000 W figure, RV-ready, a CO sensor and gasoline fuel. That places it first by the ordering rule.

Pros

  • Title states a 3,000 to 5,000 W figure
  • Title names RV-ready
  • Title names a CO sensor
  • Gasoline fuel stated

Cons

  • Fuel is gasoline only, not dual fuel
  • No electric start stated
  • No surge figure stated

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want a CO sensor named in the title
  • Buyers who want an RV-ready connection stated

Skip if

  • Buyers who need a dual fuel title
  • Buyers who want a lower watt figure for lighter loads

Verdict: The WEN 4500-Watt Inverter Generator ranks first because its title states the most details in this price window.

2 Stated 3,000 to 5,000 W with no extra features

ERAYAK 4500W Portable Inverter Generator for Home Use

ERAYAK 4500W Portable Inverter Generator for Home Use

Type
Inverter
Fuel
Gasoline
Watts
3000 to 5000 W

$499.00 (as of 10/17/2026 23:04 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

The title states a 3,000 to 5,000 W figure and gasoline fuel, but no CO sensor or RV-ready. It ranks second by the number of stated details.

Pros

  • Title states a 3,000 to 5,000 W figure
  • Gasoline fuel stated
  • Inverter type named

Cons

  • No CO sensor stated
  • No RV-ready stated
  • No electric start stated

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want a stated watt figure in this window
  • Buyers who do not need RV-ready or a CO sensor in the title

Skip if

  • Buyers who want a CO sensor named
  • Buyers who want dual fuel

Verdict: The ERAYAK ranks second with a stated watt figure and gasoline fuel, but fewer details than the top pick.

3 Only dual fuel with RV-ready here

A-iPower 2300W Dual Fuel Inverter Generator

A-iPower 2300W Dual Fuel Inverter Generator

Type
Inverter
Fuel
Dual Fuel
Watts
Under 3000 W
RV ready
Yes

$418.49 (as of 10/17/2026 22:23 PDT - Details) Typical price: $464.99, 10% off

View on Amazon

The title names dual fuel, RV-ready and a watt figure under 3,000 W. It ranks third because it states fewer details than the first two picks, but it is the only dual fuel pick with RV-ready.

Pros

  • Dual fuel stated
  • RV-ready stated
  • Inverter type named

Cons

  • Watt figure is under 3,000 W
  • No CO sensor stated
  • No electric start stated

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want gasoline and propane stated
  • Buyers who want RV-ready in a dual fuel title

Skip if

  • Buyers who want a 3,000 to 5,000 W figure
  • Buyers who want a CO sensor named

Verdict: The A-iPower ranks third as the only dual fuel pick with RV-ready, though its watt figure is under 3,000 W.

4 Dual fuel with a CO sensor stated

PowerSmart 3800 Watt Dual Fuel Inverter Generator for Home Emergency Use

PowerSmart 3800 Watt Dual Fuel Inverter Generator for Home Emergency Use

Type
Inverter
Fuel
Dual Fuel
Watts
3000 to 5000 W
CO sensor
Yes

$449.99 (as of 10/17/2026 12:31 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

The title names dual fuel, a 3,000 to 5,000 W figure and a CO sensor. It ranks fourth because it states the same number of details as the A-iPower but appears later in the pool order.

Pros

  • Dual fuel stated
  • Title states a 3,000 to 5,000 W figure
  • CO sensor named

Cons

  • No RV-ready stated
  • No electric start stated
  • No surge figure stated

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want dual fuel and a CO sensor in the title
  • Buyers who want a stated watt figure in the 3,000 to 5,000 W group

Skip if

  • Buyers who want RV-ready
  • Buyers who want a lighter, lower watt unit

Verdict: The PowerSmart ranks fourth with dual fuel, a stated watt figure and a CO sensor, but no RV-ready.

5 Stated under 3,000 W gasoline inverter

WEN Super Quiet 2350-Watt Portable Inverter Generator with Fuel Shut Off

WEN Super Quiet 2350-Watt Portable Inverter Generator with Fuel Shut Off

Type
Inverter
Fuel
Gasoline
Watts
Under 3000 W

$429.00 (as of 10/17/2026 12:31 PDT - Details)

View on Amazon

The title states a watt figure under 3,000 W and gasoline fuel, but no CO sensor or RV-ready. It ranks last by the number of stated details.

Pros

  • Gasoline fuel stated
  • Inverter type named
  • Watt figure under 3,000 W stated

Cons

  • No CO sensor stated
  • No RV-ready stated
  • No electric start stated

Good fit if

  • Buyers who want a stated under 3,000 W figure
  • Buyers who want a gasoline inverter in this window

Skip if

  • Buyers who want dual fuel
  • Buyers who want a CO sensor named

Verdict: The WEN 2350-Watt ranks last with fewer stated details, though its under 3,000 W figure may suit lighter loads.

Side by side

#GeneratorTypeFuelWattsElectric startRV readyCO sensor
1WEN 4500-Watt Inverter GeneratorInverterGasoline3000 to 5000 Wnot statedYesYes
2ERAYAK 4500W Portable Inverter Generator for Home UseInverterGasoline3000 to 5000 Wnot statednot statednot stated
3A-iPower 2300W Dual Fuel Inverter GeneratorInverterDual FuelUnder 3000 Wnot statedYesnot stated
4PowerSmart 3800 Watt Dual Fuel Inverter Generator for Home Emergency UseInverterDual Fuel3000 to 5000 Wnot statednot statedYes
5WEN Super Quiet 2350-Watt Portable Inverter Generator with Fuel Shut OffInverterGasolineUnder 3000 Wnot statednot statednot stated

How we picked

This guide covers 5 fuel-powered generators with a live price inside this price window. The 3 battery power station makers still listed under generators are left out. Each pick is compared on the details stated in its listing title: type, fuel, watt group, electric start, RV ready and CO sensor. The order ranks by the number of details the title states, most first, then tri fuel before dual fuel before gasoline before not stated, then by the order in the pool file. No product was started, run, loaded or measured; the comparison is on stated details and live prices only.

How to choose

Fuel generator or battery power station

This guide covers fuel-powered generators only. Battery power stations, sometimes sold as solar generators, are a different product kind with their own guides on this site. For a generator, the title states the fuel and the watt figure; for a power station, the title states watt-hours and output watts. Decide which kind fits your situation before comparing models.

Which fuels the title names

The titles here name gasoline or dual fuel. Dual fuel means the seller states two fuels, usually gasoline and propane. The catalogue does not state which fuel is easier to find after a storm or which lasts longer. Check the EIA pages on gasoline and propane for what each fuel is, and read the maker's page for the unit's fuel requirements.

Starting watts, running watts and watt-hours in a title

A generator title's first power figure is often the starting (peak) figure, and the running figure is lower and printed on the maker's page. The catalogue does not state which figure the title uses. For a power station, the title states capacity in watt-hours and output in watts. Read the running and starting watts on the appliance label and the maker's page, and compare them with what the listing states.

A fridge and fans: reading labels before you buy

The catalogue does not state what any generator can run. To choose, read the running and starting watts on the appliance label and the maker's page, and compare them with what the listing states. The title's first figure may be the starting figure, so the running figure is likely lower. No guide here sizes a generator for a home.

Who connects backup power to a house

Connecting a generator to a home's electrical system is for a licensed electrician, the maker and the local permit office. The catalogue does not state transfer switch, interlock or inlet box details. Read the maker's manual for the unit's connection requirements and check your county's and your building's rules.

Rules to check for your home: county, building and HOA

Florida counties, buildings and HOAs can have their own rules about generators, fuel storage and placement. The catalogue does not state any of these. Check your county's and your building's rules before buying. For storm preparation, the Florida Division of Emergency Management and the National Weather Service pages in the sources list are the places to read.

Questions

What does this guide cover?

This guide covers 5 fuel-powered generators with a live price inside this price window. Each pick is compared on the details stated in its listing title, such as fuel, watt group, RV-ready and CO sensor, and on live prices. The 3 battery power station makers still listed under generators are left out.

Does this guide cover runtime, noise, fuel use or where to place the unit?

No. The catalogue has no data for runtime, noise, fuel use or placement. The maker's manual and the safety and storm pages in the sources list are where to read about them. The CPSC, CDC and EPA pages on generators and carbon monoxide are linked in the sources, without restating their content.

Are these picks tested or measured?

No. The products are compared on the details stated in each listing title and on live prices. No unit was started, run, loaded or measured. The title's first watt figure is often the starting figure, and the running figure is on the maker's page.

What does dual fuel mean in a title?

Dual fuel means the seller states two fuels, usually gasoline and propane. The A-iPower and PowerSmart titles name dual fuel. The catalogue does not state which fuel is easier to find after a storm or which lasts longer. Read the maker's page for the unit's fuel requirements.

Can I connect one of these to my house?

Connecting a generator to a home's electrical system is for a licensed electrician, the maker and the local permit office. The catalogue does not state transfer switch, interlock or inlet box details. Read the maker's manual and check your county's and your building's rules.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related guides