Watts vs Watt Hours: Real Efficiency When Drawing
Short answer: Watts and watt-hours are two different figures on a power station listing. Watts measure the rate at which a device draws power; watt-hours measure the total energy the battery can store. When the unit converts stored DC power to AC output, some energy is lost as heat, so the capacity figure is a starting point rather than a direct promise. Read both figures on the listing, then confirm the continuous output and any efficiency note on the maker's page.
Watts Measure the Rate, Watt-Hours Measure the Reserve
A watt is a unit of power, the rate at which electricity is used at a single moment. The U.S. Energy Information Administration explains on its 'Measuring electricity' page that electricity is measured in units of power called watts, and that some devices need only a few watts to operate while others need more. When an appliance label states a watt figure, that number describes the draw while the appliance is on.
A watt-hour is the product of watts and hours: one watt held for one hour is one watt-hour, and 1,000 watt-hours make one kilowatt-hour. Power station listings state the battery's energy reserve in watt-hours, while generators state fuel as a separate item. The watt figure and the watt-hour figure answer different shopping questions for hurricane backup power, and neither one can be read as the other.
What a Power Station Listing States
A power station listing generally shows two electrical figures: a continuous output in watts and a capacity in watt-hours. A title might read '1,200W / 1,000Wh' or present the same two figures in a bullet list. The continuous output is the rate the unit can sustain at its AC outlets, and the capacity is the total energy it can store before recharging. This is the pair of figures the apartment power station guide compares.
Some listings add a peak or surge figure that is higher than the continuous figure. That peak figure describes the short moment when a motor starts, not a rate the unit sustains. The listing may not label which figure is continuous and which is peak, so the maker's page and the manual are the places to confirm.
What a Generator Listing States Instead
A fuel-powered generator does not carry a watt-hour figure. Its listing states running watts and starting watts, and often names the fuel: gasoline, dual fuel or tri fuel. The running watts describe the continuous rate the generator can sustain, and the starting watts describe the higher rate available for the brief moment when an appliance with a motor starts.
Generator titles often show the starting figure first, which can make two generators look similar when their running figures differ. The reader looks for the running figure in the bullet list or on the maker's page. The 3000 to 5000 watt generator guide and the inverter generator guide compare those figures on stated details.
Inverter Losses and Usable Energy
A power station stores direct current in its battery and converts that DC to alternating current at the AC outlets. The conversion is not a one-for-one transfer: some of the stored energy is lost as heat in the inverter and the surrounding electronics. A listing rarely states the amount of that loss, and this article does not state one either.
The maker's manual and product page are the places to look for an efficiency figure. Even a stated figure varies with the load and the operating conditions. The practical result is that the watt-hour capacity on a listing is a starting point, not a promise that an AC appliance will receive that full amount. The reader who wants a number reads the maker's page.
How to Compare the Figures When Shopping
Compare figures that answer the same question. Compare a power station's continuous output in watts with a generator's running watts if the question is what can be sustained at once. Compare the power station's watt-hour capacity with the appliance label's watt draw and the length of time the appliance would be on, keeping in mind the inverter loss. The best backup power for Florida guide helps you frame that comparison.
The appliance label is the direct source for the watt draw, and an appliance label can be read at home without any equipment. If the question is whether a unit can be connected to a home's wiring, the answer belongs to a licensed electrician, the maker and the local permit office, not to a listing.
Check the Maker's Numbers Before the Storm
A listing is the seller's summary, and the seller may rename or reformat the numbers. The maker's page is the more detailed source for continuous output, capacity and any efficiency note. The owner's manual is the final reference for use, storage and the temperature range for charging. For a larger home reserve, the 3,000Wh home backup guide reads capacity figures side by side.
Before hurricane season, bookmark the county emergency management office and the Florida Division of Emergency Management pages, and read the National Weather Service page on what to do before a storm, which includes checking emergency equipment such as flashlights, generators and storm shutters.
What a Listing Does Not State
Listings state electrical figures in watts and watt-hours, but they do not state the measured loss of the inverter, the runtime for a given appliance, or the temperature range for charging. Those details either come from the maker's manual or are not stated at all.
- An inverter efficiency figure: the manual or the maker's page may state one.
- Runtime for a given appliance: the reader must compare the appliance label with the continuous output and the capacity, and read the maker's load notes.
- A temperature range for charging: the manual lists it, and the listing usually does not.
- Fuel consumption for a generator: the maker's page or manual may state it, but the listing typically leaves it out.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You are comparing power stations on stated details and want both figures in view | A guide that reads continuous output and capacity side by side | Best Portable Power Stations for Hurricanes (2026): 15 Picks |
| You are choosing a unit for a condo or apartment and the capacity figure matters more | A mid-size power station in the apartment guide | Best Power Station for Apartments (2026): 15 Picks |
| You want a large reserve for longer outages and read the watt-hour figure first | A 3,000Wh-class power station | Best 3000Wh Power Stations for Home Backup (2026): 15 Picks |
| You are comparing a power station with a fuel generator and need output figures | A generator guide that states running watts | Best 3000 to 5000 Watt Generators for Hurricanes (2026): 13 Picks |
| You want the largest capacity within a small budget tier | A budget power station guide | Best Power Station Under $700 for Florida (2026): 7 Picks |
Questions
Is a higher watt-hour figure always the better choice?
No. A watt-hour figure describes the amount of energy the battery can store, not the rate at which it can deliver that energy to an AC outlet. A large capacity with a small continuous output may not be able to start an appliance with a motor. Compare both figures.
How much energy is lost in the inverter?
The listing and this article do not state the amount. The inverter converts DC battery power to AC, and some energy is lost as heat. The maker's manual or product page is the place to look for an efficiency figure, and even a stated figure can vary with the load.
Why don't generators have watt-hours?
A generator burns fuel and does not store a fixed amount of energy in a battery, so there is no watt-hour equivalent in its listing. The listing states running watts and starting watts, and the fuel is a separate item that the reader can ask the maker about.
Which figure on the listing matches the appliance label?
The appliance label states the watt draw while the appliance is on. Compare that with the unit's continuous output in watts, not its peak figure. The watt-hour figure is a separate reference for the total reserve, minus the inverter loss.
Where should I start before hurricane season?
Bookmark the county emergency management office and the Florida Division of Emergency Management pages. The National Weather Service page on what to do before a storm says to check emergency equipment such as flashlights, generators and storm shutters.
Recent updates
- : First published.