Best Standby Generators for Florida (2026): 10 Picks
The top pick here is the Champion 22,000-Watt Dual Fuel whole house home standby generator. Its title names liquid propane and natural gas, a 22,000-watt figure and a 200-amp automatic transfer switch, more stated details than any other listing in this guide. All 10 picks are compared on the details each title states, next to their live prices.
10 picks from 16 generators that match this guide with a price we can quote today, made by 14 makers. Every price below is live and carries the moment it was read.
The picks at a glance
Which one should you buy?
- For a single-family house before hurricane season: A standby listing is one a licensed installer connects to the home. This guide reads the watt figure and fuel each title states, so a homeowner can compare stated size and fuel before calling an installer. See pick 1
- For a house on a propane tank: The Champion 22,000-Watt title names liquid propane and natural gas. A house with a propane tank can compare that stated fuel set with the other listings, none of which state a fuel in the title. See pick 1
- For a home comparing Generac whole home titles: Six of the 10 listings are Generac titles stating watt figures from 10 to 28 kilowatts. A buyer comparing that brand's stated figures can line them up by the watt figure each title prints. See pick 2
The 10 picks
1 Only title naming dual fuel
Champion 22,000-Watt Dual Fuel
- Type
- Standby
- Fuel
- Dual Fuel
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
$6,399.00 (as of 10/17/2026 22:47 PDT - Details)
This listing ranks first because its title states 3 details counted by the ordering rule: a standby type, an over-9,000-watt figure and a fuel. It is the only title in the list that names a fuel, and among the fuel-stating titles it leads by pool order.
Pros
- Title names liquid propane and natural gas
- Title states 22,000 watts
- Title names a 200-amp automatic transfer switch
- Title says whole house home standby
Cons
- Running watts not stated by the seller
- No electric start, RV ready or CO sensor named in the title
- Only fuel set stated in this list
Good fit if
- A home with a propane tank or a natural gas line, based on the stated fuels
- A buyer comparing stated watt and fuel figures before calling an installer
Skip if
- A title that states no fuel is preferred
- A buyer who wants a running-watt figure in the listing title
Verdict: The only standby title here that names dual fuel, liquid propane, natural gas and a 200-amp automatic transfer switch.
2 Largest stated watt figure in this list
Generac 28kW Whole Home Generator
- Type
- Standby
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
$8,387.10 (as of 10/17/2026 23:15 PDT - Details)
This listing leads the no-fuel group by pool order. Its title states 2 details counted by the rule: a standby type and an over-9,000-watt figure, with 28 kilowatts printed in the title.
Pros
- Title states 28 kilowatts, the largest figure here
- Title names whole home and whole house backup
- Title names a transfer switch and cellular capability
Cons
- Fuel not stated in the title
- Running watts not stated by the seller
- No electric start or CO sensor named
Good fit if
- A home comparing the largest stated watt figure in this list
- A buyer who wants a transfer switch and cellular capability named in the title
Skip if
- A title that states a fuel matters more than the watt figure
- A buyer who needs a running-watt figure in the title
Verdict: A Generac whole home title stating 28 kilowatts with a transfer switch and cellular capability.
3 Names a 200-amp aXis transfer switch
Champion Power Equipment 100837 14kW Home Standby Generator System
- Type
- Standby
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
$5,499.00 (as of 10/17/2026 22:47 PDT - Details)
Champion Power Equipment appears third by pool order among the no-fuel titles. Its title names a specific transfer switch model, the 200-amp aXis, with a 14-kilowatt figure.
Pros
- Title names a 200-amp aXis automatic transfer switch
- Title states 14 kilowatts
- Title says home standby generator system
Cons
- Fuel not stated in the title
- No cellular or WiFi capability named
- No running watts stated
Good fit if
- A buyer comparing stated transfer switch details in the title
- A home that wants a Champion-brand standby listing
Skip if
- A larger watt figure matters more than the stated transfer switch
- A buyer who wants fuel named in the title
Verdict: A Champion standby title naming a 200-amp aXis automatic transfer switch and 14 kilowatts.
4 Kohler brand stated with a 200-amp transfer switch
20kW Standby Generator with 200amp TS
- Type
- Standby
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
$6,848.00 (as of 10/17/2026 22:21 PDT - Details)
This Kohler listing holds the fourth pool position among the no-fuel titles. The title states 20 kilowatts and a 200-amp transfer switch, with the brand read from the pool.
Pros
- Title states 20 kilowatts
- Title names a 200-amp transfer switch
- Kohler brand as stated in the pool
Cons
- Fuel not stated in the title
- No cellular or WiFi named
- No running watts stated
Good fit if
- A buyer looking at a Kohler-brand standby listing
- A home comparing stated 200-amp transfer switch titles
Skip if
- A transfer switch is not needed in the title
- A buyer who wants fuel named in the title
Verdict: A Kohler-brand standby title stating 20 kilowatts and a 200-amp transfer switch.
5 26 kilowatts with transfer switch and cellular
Generac 26kW Whole Home Generator
- Type
- Standby
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
$7,253.10 (as of 10/17/2026 23:15 PDT - Details)
Fifth by pool order among the no-fuel listings. The title combines a 26-kilowatt figure with a transfer switch and cellular capability, matching the Generac whole home wording.
Pros
- Title states 26 kilowatts
- Title names a transfer switch and cellular capability
- Title says whole house backup power
Cons
- Fuel not stated in the title
- No running watts stated
- No electric start or CO sensor named
Good fit if
- A buyer comparing Generac whole home titles at a similar watt figure
- A home that wants cellular capability named
Skip if
- A title that states a fuel is preferred
- A buyer who wants a running-watt figure
Verdict: A Generac whole home title stating 26 kilowatts with a transfer switch and cellular capability.
6 24 kilowatts with a transfer switch and cellular
Generac 24kW Whole Home Generator
- Type
- Standby
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
$6,875.10 (as of 10/17/2026 23:15 PDT - Details)
Sixth among the no-fuel titles by pool order. The title states 24 kilowatts and names the same transfer switch and cellular feature set as the 26-kilowatt Generac listings.
Pros
- Title states 24 kilowatts
- Title names a transfer switch and cellular capability
- Title says whole house backup power, automatic 200 amp
Cons
- Fuel not stated in the title
- No running watts stated
- No CO sensor or electric start named
Good fit if
- A buyer comparing the 24- and 26-kilowatt Generac titles
- A home that wants a transfer switch named in the title
Skip if
- A larger watt figure is required
- A buyer who wants fuel stated in the title
Verdict: A Generac whole home title stating 24 kilowatts with a transfer switch and cellular capability.
7 26 kilowatts with WiFi and cellular only
Generac 26kW Whole Home Generator
- Type
- Standby
- Fuel
- Dual Fuel
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
$6,317.10 (as of 10/17/2026 23:15 PDT - Details)
Seventh among the no-fuel titles. Unlike the other 26-kilowatt Generac listing, this title names WiFi and cellular capability but no transfer switch, so it ranks after the transfer-switch titles.
Pros
- Title states 26 kilowatts
- Title names WiFi and cellular capability
- Title says whole house coverage
Cons
- No transfer switch named in the title
- Fuel not stated in the title
- No running watts stated
Good fit if
- A home that wants WiFi and cellular capability named
- A buyer comparing the two 26-kilowatt Generac titles
Skip if
- A transfer switch must appear in the title
- A buyer who wants fuel stated in the title
Verdict: A Generac whole home title stating 26 kilowatts with WiFi and cellular capability and no transfer switch named.
8 18 kilowatts with a transfer switch and cellular
Generac 18kW Whole Home Generator
- Type
- Standby
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
$5,975.10 (as of 10/17/2026 23:15 PDT - Details)
Eighth by pool order. The title states 18 kilowatts and includes the same transfer switch and cellular wording as the larger Generac listings, placing it below them in the pool order.
Pros
- Title states 18 kilowatts
- Title names a transfer switch and cellular capability
- Title says whole house backup power
Cons
- Fuel not stated in the title
- Smaller watt figure than the 20-kilowatt and larger titles
- No running watts stated
Good fit if
- A buyer compiling Generac whole home titles from 10 to 28 kilowatts
- A home that wants a transfer switch and cellular capability named
Skip if
- A watt figure above 18 kilowatts is required
- A buyer who wants fuel stated in the title
Verdict: A Generac whole home title stating 18 kilowatts with a transfer switch and cellular capability.
9 Smallest stated watt figure among Generac picks
Generac 10kW Whole Home Generator
- Type
- Standby
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
$3,329.10 (as of 10/17/2026 23:15 PDT - Details)
Ninth among the no-fuel titles. At 10 kilowatts, this title states the smallest watt figure in the group, with WiFi and cellular wording similar to the 26-kilowatt cellular listing.
Pros
- Title states 10 kilowatts, the smallest Generac figure here
- Title names WiFi and cellular capability
- Title says whole house coverage
Cons
- No transfer switch named in the title
- Fuel not stated in the title
- No running watts stated
Good fit if
- A buyer comparing Generac titles from 10 to 28 kilowatts
- A home that wants a smaller stated watt figure with cellular capability
Skip if
- A watt figure above 10 kilowatts is required
- A transfer switch must appear in the title
Verdict: A Generac whole home title stating 10 kilowatts with WiFi and cellular capability.
10 22 kilowatts with a transfer switch and cellular
Generac 22kW Whole Home Generator
- Type
- Standby
- Watts
- Over 9000 W
$6,506.10 (as of 10/17/2026 23:15 PDT - Details)
Tenth by pool order. The title states 22 kilowatts with the same transfer switch and cellular wording as the other Generac transfer-switch titles, ranking last in the pool order among them.
Pros
- Title states 22 kilowatts
- Title names a transfer switch and cellular capability
- Title says whole house backup power
Cons
- Fuel not stated in the title
- No running watts stated
- No CO sensor or electric start named
Good fit if
- A buyer compiling the full set of Generac standby titles
- A home that wants a transfer switch and cellular capability named
Skip if
- A watt figure above 22 kilowatts is required
- A buyer who wants fuel stated in the title
Verdict: A Generac whole home title stating 22 kilowatts with a transfer switch and cellular capability.
Side by side
| # | Generator | Type | Fuel | Watts | Electric start | RV ready | CO sensor |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Champion 22,000-Watt Dual Fuel | Standby | Dual Fuel | Over 9000 W | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 2 | Generac 28kW Whole Home Generator | Standby | not stated | Over 9000 W | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 3 | Champion Power Equipment 100837 14kW Home Standby Generator System | Standby | not stated | Over 9000 W | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 4 | 20kW Standby Generator with 200amp TS | Standby | not stated | Over 9000 W | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 5 | Generac 26kW Whole Home Generator | Standby | not stated | Over 9000 W | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 6 | Generac 24kW Whole Home Generator | Standby | not stated | Over 9000 W | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 7 | Generac 26kW Whole Home Generator | Standby | Dual Fuel | Over 9000 W | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 8 | Generac 18kW Whole Home Generator | Standby | not stated | Over 9000 W | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 9 | Generac 10kW Whole Home Generator | Standby | not stated | Over 9000 W | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| 10 | Generac 22kW Whole Home Generator | Standby | not stated | Over 9000 W | not stated | not stated | not stated |
How we picked
The catalogue matched 16 priced listings whose titles say standby, whole home, whole house or home generator and not portable or inverter. After near-duplicates were folded, 10 distinct listings remain. Picks are ordered by the number of stated details in each title (type, fuel, watt group, electric start, RV ready, CO sensor), then by dual fuel before no stated fuel, then by the order in the pool file. Every listing is compared on the details its title states and on its live price.
How to choose
Fuel generator or battery power station
Florida backup power comes down to a fuel generator or a battery power station. This guide covers fuel generators whose titles read as standby, whole home or whole house. Battery power stations are covered in separate guides on this site; this guide does not compare the two on any figure. The decision is about fuel, installation and the details each title states.
Standby, whole home and home generator in a title
Titles in this guide use words like standby, whole home, whole house and home generator. That is the seller's wording for a unit a licensed installer connects to the home. The type is read from the title, and the guide orders picks by the stated details, but it never promises what a unit will power.
Which fuels the title names
Only one title in this list names a fuel: the Champion 22,000-Watt title states liquid propane and natural gas. The other 9 titles state no fuel, so they are read as not stated by the seller. The EIA natural gas page linked below explains what natural gas is; no listing claim is made from it.
Starting watts, running watts and watt-hours in a title
The first watt figure a title prints is often the starting or peak figure, and the running figure is lower and printed on the maker's page. This guide quotes the title's figure and never gives a running figure the title does not print. For power stations, watt-hours work differently; those are in the battery power station guides.
Who connects backup power to a house
Standby units and every home connection are for a licensed electrician, the maker and the local permit office. A title may name a transfer switch, but this guide gives no wiring steps and no instructions for connecting a unit to a home.
Rules to check for your home: county, building and HOA
Rules for backup power vary by county, building and HOA. Check your county's and your building's rules, and ask your insurer what a standby unit means for your policy. The CPSC and CDC pages linked in the sources cover storm preparation and generator safety without restating them here.
Questions
Does this guide cover runtime, noise, fuel use or where to place the unit?
No. The catalogue holds no data for runtime, noise, fuel use, tank size, placement or installation steps. This guide compares only the details each title states and the live prices on the page. For generator and carbon monoxide information, read the maker's manual and the CPSC and CDC pages linked in the sources.
What does whole home or whole house mean in a title?
Those are the seller's words in the listing titles. They are not a promise about what the unit will run. The titles print a watt figure, often the starting figure, and the running figure is on the maker's page; read the appliance labels and compare before buying.
Why do most titles here not state a fuel?
Only the Champion 22,000-Watt title names a fuel: liquid propane and natural gas. The other 9 titles do not state a fuel in the listing text, so this guide reads them as not stated by the seller rather than guessing.
Who installs a standby generator?
A standby unit and every connection to a home are for a licensed electrician, the maker and the local permit office. The title names the type of unit, but the installation steps are not in the catalogue, and this guide does not describe them.
How are picks ordered in this guide?
Picks are ordered by the number of stated details in each title (type, fuel, watt group, electric start, RV ready and CO sensor), then by dual fuel before no stated fuel, then by the order in the pool. The guide compares 10 listings on stated details and live prices.
Recent updates
- : First published.





