FloridaBackupPower

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Generator Duty Cycle: Continuous Rating vs Standby

Short answer: Duty cycle describes what share of time a generator can carry a given load. A listing's continuous, or running, watt figure is the load the unit can carry without a duty restriction; the standby rating is a higher load set for emergency use over the shorter spans the maker defines. For shopping, plan backup power on the continuous figure and compare it with what you intend to power. A title rarely states a duty cycle; the manual and the specification sheet define it. Neither a listing nor this article can promise runtime hours.

What duty cycle means on a generator listing

A generator listing usually shows 2 watt figures. The first is the starting figure for the instant motors switch on; the second is the running figure for the load the unit carries while it runs. Duty cycle is a separate idea. It describes the share of time a machine is expected to carry a given load. Continuous rating means the load the unit can carry without the duty cycle limiting it. Standby rating is a higher load set for emergency use over the shorter spans the maker defines.

The word duty cycle rarely appears in a listing title. What appears is starting watts, running watts, peak, surge, and continuous. The maker's manual and the specification sheet define the duty cycle and the operating limits. See generator running watts and starting watts for how the 2 title figures read.

Use the continuous rating when you plan

For backup power, the practical shopping figure is the running, or continuous, watt figure. It is the load most appliances draw most of the time. The starting figure matters only for a moment when a motor switches on. Compare the continuous figure against the labels of the appliances you want to power during an outage, and let a licensed electrician advise on any wiring question. Reading appliance labels in general terms explains how a stated watt figure compares with a label.

This site does not size a home. A title cannot tell you what a unit will run for a particular household. The manual, the appliance labels, and a qualified electrician fill in that answer.

Standby rating is an emergency figure

When standby appears as a rating, it sets a higher load than the continuous figure. The maker designs a standby unit to carry that load during outages rather than as a round-the-clock duty. The manual defines how long and under what conditions. A home standby generator is the permanently installed type; it carries a standby rating for the same reason, because it runs when the grid is down, not as a primary supply.

For a home standby generator, the installer, the maker, and the local permit office decide what the unit can do. Ask the installer which rating the home would use. Best standby generators for Florida homes lists the shopping terms.

What a listing does not state

A listing title states watts and features. It does not state a duty cycle percentage, runtime hours, or fuel use per hour. This article and the buying guides compare stated details only. Runtime depends on the load, the maker's operating definition, and the fuel supply, none of which a title alone can tell you.

If runtime matters to you, read the manual and ask the maker directly. Generator fuel run time and generator fuel consumption rate explain the terms without promises.

Match the rating to the way you will use it

The rating you shop on depends on how much of the home you plan to power. A small inverter unit may cover a few essentials for short spans. A larger portable unit carries more load. A standby unit is installed and sized by a professional. No article can promise how long any of them runs.

Shopping early in the season leaves time to compare units on their stated details. For a portable generator for a house or townhouse, compare running watts across best 3,000 to 5,000 watt generators for hurricanes and best inverter generators for Florida neighborhoods.

A power station states duty differently

A portable power station has no engine, so it has no duty cycle in the generator sense. It lists continuous AC output in watts and total capacity in watt-hours. Watt-hours describe how much energy the battery holds; continuous output describes the load it can supply. Neither is the same as a generator duty cycle.

If your home cannot place a generator, compare power stations on capacity and continuous output. Power station watts versus watt-hours explains the 2 figures, and best 3,000Wh power stations for home backup compares stated details.

Safety pages to read before the season

What a duty cycle allows is a rating question, not an operation question. The maker's manual states how to run the unit. The federal and state safety pages listed in the sources cover generator operation and hurricane preparation. Reading them before the season is part of planning; the Florida emergency management pages and the National Weather Service are good starting points.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want a portable generator for a house and plan to shop on running wattsA generator from the 3,000 to 5,000 watt classBest 3000 to 5000 Watt Generators for Hurricanes (2026): 13 Picks
You want an inverter unit for a few essentials during short outagesA portable inverter generatorBest Inverter Generators for Florida (2026): 15 Picks
You want a permanent unit wired by a professional for longer outagesA home standby generatorBest Standby Generators for Florida (2026): 10 Picks
You want to choose between gasoline and propane when you shopA dual fuel generatorBest Dual Fuel Generator for Florida (2026): 15 Picks
You want a tri fuel unit to use natural gas at a houseA tri fuel generatorBest Tri Fuel Generators for Hurricane Season (2026): 15 Picks
You live in an apartment or condo and cannot place a generatorA portable power stationBest Power Station for Apartments (2026): 15 Picks
You want a large battery unit for home backupA 3,000Wh class power stationBest 3000Wh Power Stations for Home Backup (2026): 15 Picks
You want a portable generator that includes a CO sensor feature in the listing wordsA generator with a CO sensor and shutoffBest CO Sensor Generators for Florida (2026): 15 Picks

Questions

Does a duty cycle tell me how many hours a generator will run?

No. A listing rarely states a duty cycle percentage or runtime hours. The maker's manual and specification sheet define the duty cycle and operating limits. This article does not state runtime hours for any unit.

Should I plan on starting watts or running watts for backup power?

Plan on the running, or continuous, watt figure. The starting figure covers the moment motors switch on and is not the load most appliances draw. Compare the running figure against appliance labels in general terms, and let a licensed electrician advise on any wiring question.

What is the difference between continuous rating and standby rating?

Continuous rating is the load a unit can carry without a duty restriction. Standby rating is a higher load set for emergency use over the shorter spans the maker defines. The manual states the conditions for each.

Why do generator listings show 2 watt figures?

The first figure is usually the starting, surge, or peak watts; the second is the running, or continuous, watts. See generator running watts and starting watts for how the title reads.

Can I compare a power station's watt-hours to a generator's duty cycle?

Not directly. Watt-hours are the battery's capacity, continuous watts are the output a station can supply, and a generator duty cycle describes the load the engine can carry. Each is a separate stated detail.

Where is the duty cycle stated?

Usually in the owner's manual and the specification sheet, not in the listing title. If a figure matters to you, ask the maker directly and keep the manual with the unit.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides