FloridaBackupPower

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Generator Run Time: What Listings State About Hours

Short answer: Generator run time is the hours a maker states a model runs at a given load on a full tank. It depends on the fuel tank, the electrical load, and the engine. This article explains how to read those stated figures and why the site does not promise how long your home will run. Compare stated runtime figures in the generator guides, then check appliance labels and the maker's page.

What run time means on a generator listing

Generator run time is the hours a maker states a model can run on a full tank at a stated load. It is a stated figure, not a site measurement. Three things shape it: the fuel tank's size, the electrical load you put on the generator, and how efficiently the engine turns fuel into power.

A listing pairs hours with a load, such as a stated load figure, so the number has context. That context comes from the maker's product page or the owner's manual. This article explains how to read that figure, and where the question of your own home's hours is handed back to you.

For Florida buyers, run time is a shopping detail, not a home promise. The Florida Division of Emergency Management generator safety page covers generator use before and during a storm; this article does not restate it. The guides below compare what the seller states, not what this site measured.

Fuel tank size: the first stated detail

The fuel tank's capacity is the first stated detail a listing usually shows. A larger tank can hold more fuel, so a model with a bigger tank can, in general terms, run longer than a smaller one when the load is the same. The tank size by itself does not tell you hours.

A dual-fuel or tri-fuel generator can run on more than one fuel, and the maker may state a separate runtime figure for each fuel. Gasoline is a fuel made from crude oil and other petroleum liquids, and propane is a hydrocarbon gas liquid, per the EIA pages that define those terms. Compare the stated figures as listing details, not as promises for your home.

For multi-fuel shopping, see the dual fuel generator guide and the tri fuel generator guide, and read the learn pages on fuel options.

  • Fuel tank capacity: the amount the tank holds when full, as the maker states it.
  • Runtime at a stated load: the hours the maker states at the load the listing names.
  • Fuel-specific figures: for multi-fuel models, a runtime figure for each fuel the maker lists.

Load is the variable that moves runtime

The load is how much power the devices you connect draw from the generator. The more you draw, the faster the engine uses fuel. A light load draws fuel slowly; a heavy load draws it down quickly. That is why a single runtime figure is incomplete: you need the load the maker used to state the hours.

A generator listing shows running watts and starting watts. An appliance label lists the watts a device draws. Reading a label is a way to check what a device needs, but this article does not size your home or tell you what to plug in. The EIA page on measuring electricity explains watts and kilowatts as units.

For run-time shopping, compare stated figures at the same stated load. Two models with different stated loads are not directly comparable on hours alone. See the running watts and starting watts explainer for the distinction.

Engine efficiency as a stated design factor

Engine efficiency describes how well the engine converts fuel into power. An efficient engine can use less fuel for the same power, which extends the hours you get from a tank. Efficiency is a design factor a maker may describe in a listing or manual, and this site does not measure it.

This site compares listings on the details the seller states. It does not promise fuel use per hour, does not measure a generator's consumption, and does not turn a tank size into a runtime promise for your home. A maker's word for efficiency is a stated detail to read, not a measured claim this site repeats.

When the listing does not state run time

If a listing does not include a runtime figure, do not assume one. Go to the maker's product page or the owner's manual and find the stated hours at the stated load. The maker publishes the manual and the stated figures.

The hour meter counts engine hours while the generator runs; reading it is a way to track use, not a way to predict future runtime. The fuel gauge shows the tank level; it does not tell you how much longer the engine will run under your load. See the hour meter explainer and the fuel gauge explainer.

What this article does not promise about run time

This article does not promise that a generator runs a whole house, lasts through a storm, or powers a specific appliance for a set number of hours. Runtime for your home depends on your devices, their loads, and the maker's stated figures. The Florida generator safety page and the National Weather Service hurricane pages are the places to read storm guidance.

To shop before hurricane season, read the maker's stated runtime figures and compare models on the stated details in the guides. The National Weather Service hurricane plan page says to check emergency equipment such as generators before the season begins. Start with the mid-size portable generator guide or the large portable generator guide.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want to compare stated runtime figures and fuel tank sizes across portable modelsA portable generator guideBest 3000 to 5000 Watt Generators for Hurricanes (2026): 13 Picks
You want a model that runs on more than one fuel and states runtime for each fuelA dual fuel generatorBest Dual Fuel Generator for Florida (2026): 15 Picks
You want a model with a larger tank and a long stated runtime figureA large portable generatorBest Large Portable Generators for Hurricanes (2026): 10 Picks
You want a stationary unit installed and serviced by a professionalA standby generatorBest Standby Generators for Florida (2026): 10 Picks
You are weighing a battery power station against a fuel generatorA portable power station guideBest Portable Power Stations for Hurricanes (2026): 15 Picks

Questions

Can this site tell me how many hours a generator runs on a full tank?

No. Stated runtime depends on the fuel tank, the load, and the engine, and this site does not convert tank capacity to hours. Read the maker's stated runtime figure at a stated load on the maker's product page or in the manual.

Why does a runtime figure come with a load?

Because the load changes how fast the engine uses fuel. A figure stated at a low load is not a promise at a higher load. Compare stated figures at the same stated load.

Does a bigger fuel tank mean longer run time?

It can hold more fuel, which can mean longer run time when the load is the same. The tank is one of three factors; the load and the engine are the others. Check the maker's stated figure.

Where do I find the runtime figure for a model?

On the maker's product page or in the owner's manual. If the listing does not state it, check the maker before buying. The generator guides compare models on stated details, and the Florida Division of Emergency Management and National Weather Service pages cover storm preparation.

Should I buy a battery power station instead of a generator?

That is a separate shopping question. Generator guides compare stated runtime, fuel tank, and load figures; power station guides compare capacity in watt-hours. Read the appliance label and the maker's page either way.

Why will this site not tell me how long a specific appliance will run?

An appliance's draw changes during its cycles, and the load you put on the generator changes the outcome. The maker's stated runtime at a load and the appliance label are the details to read.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides