FloridaBackupPower

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Usable Capacity: Why a Power Station Won't Deliver Its Full Wh

Short answer: The watt-hour figure in a power station listing is the energy stored in the battery, not the energy you can draw from the AC outlets. Part of the stored energy is consumed by the inverter when it converts the battery's DC to AC, and the battery management system stops the discharge before the cells are fully empty. The maker's specification sheet or manual is where you find the stated usable capacity.

What the watt-hour figure counts

The watt-hour number in a power station listing, such as "1,024Wh" or "3,000Wh", is the amount of energy the battery can store, as the maker rates it. The EIA explains that electricity is measured in watts, a unit of power, and a watt-hour is the energy delivered by one watt sustained for one hour. In a listing, that rated watt-hour figure describes the battery's capacity before anything is drawn from the outlets.

The difference between that figure and what your devices receive is the usable capacity. A power station holds energy in a battery, converts it to the alternating current its AC outlets use, and protects the battery with a management system. Each of those steps keeps some of the stored energy from reaching your devices. That is why the full figure is not always available. The article on power station watts vs watt-hours covers the difference between the two units in a listing.

The listing title is where most readers first see this figure. A title like "3,000Wh" or "1,152Wh" is quoting the battery's rated capacity, not the output. The output is a separate number, the continuous watts of the AC outlets, and the two should not be combined into one expectation.

What the inverter takes from the battery

The battery stores direct current, DC. The AC outlets deliver alternating current, AC. The station's inverter converts DC to AC, and that conversion uses some of the battery's energy. The converted energy is never the full amount of the stored energy; part of it is released as heat in the inverter and the wiring, and part is consumed by the station's own electronics while it is on.

The inverter's continuous output is usually listed separately in watts, and the efficiency of the conversion is a maker-stated figure. If the listing does not state the efficiency, the maker's specification sheet is the place to read it. The article on inverter efficiency explains what the term means, and peak vs continuous watts explains why a listing shows two watt figures.

How the battery management system stops the discharge

The battery management system, or BMS, watches the battery's voltage, current and temperature while the station runs. One of its jobs is to stop the discharge before the cells are completely empty. This cutoff is a protection setting, and it means the station turns off its AC output while some energy is still in the battery.

The level at which the cutoff happens is set by the maker. Some makers state it as a depth of discharge figure or as a usable capacity in the manual or spec sheet. When it is not stated, the rated watt-hours is a starting point for shopping, not the amount you will get from the outlets. The depth of discharge article explains this term and how it appears in listing language.

The BMS cutoff is one of the reasons the station shuts off at a point that seems early. It is a protection setting, not a failure of the inverter. Some units also hold back a reserve to power the station's own display and electronics, which adds to the difference between rated and usable capacity.

What the listing states and what the maker states

A listing title may show one watt-hour figure or a pair of figures. When the maker or seller states a usable figure, that number is closer to the energy the outlets can deliver. When the listing shows only the cell capacity, the rated number is what the battery stores, not a promised output. The way to tell which figure a listing uses is to read the bullet list and the maker's specification page side by side.

Two listings for the same unit can quote different numbers for the same reason: one uses the cell capacity and the other uses a usable figure. Reading the specification sheet is the way to know which number you are looking at. This applies to both small units and the large units in the 3000Wh class.

Listing terms for capacity
TermWhat it usually means
Rated watt-hours (Wh)The energy the battery stores as the maker rates it, before losses.
Usable capacityThe energy the maker states the outlets can deliver; not every listing states it.
Continuous output (W)The watts the AC outlets can sustain, a separate figure from the watt-hours.

Why this matters when you shop before the season

When you compare power stations before hurricane season, the figure to compare is the usable capacity, not only the rated watt-hours. The Florida Division of Emergency Management asks residents to make a plan and prepare before the season, and the National Weather Service suggests checking equipment such as generators before the season begins. A power station is part of that equipment check.

So the shopping question is a reading question: find the statement of usable capacity, put it next to the output watts in the same listing, and compare units on that basis. The portable power station guide compares units on their stated details, and the apartment guide covers compact units for condos and rental homes.

Keep the manual with the unit and note the usable capacity figure next to the watt-hours in the listing. That makes the comparison honest: a higher usable number is what matters at the outlet, not a higher rated number.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want a unit whose maker states a separate usable capacity figureRead the maker's spec sheet before comparing listingsBest Portable Power Stations for Hurricanes (2026): 15 Picks
You live in a Florida apartment or condo and need a compact unitA power station sized for apartment backupBest Power Station for Apartments (2026): 15 Picks
You want a large unit for a house during a storm outageA large power station in the 3000Wh classBest 3000Wh Power Stations for Home Backup (2026): 15 Picks
You want a unit that lists UPS wording for a computer or routerA power station with UPS in the listingBest Power Stations with UPS for Florida (2026): 15 Picks
You are comparing small units for a few essential devicesA power station in the budget tierBest Power Station Under $700 for Florida (2026): 7 Picks

Questions

Will a power station deliver the exact watt-hours in its title?

Almost never. The rated figure is the battery's stored energy, and part of it is used by the inverter and part is held back by the battery management system cutoff. The maker's stated usable capacity is the closer figure, when the maker states one.

How much less than the rated figure will I get?

This article does not give a number, because the loss depends on the maker's inverter and the BMS setting. The maker's specification sheet is the place to read the stated usable capacity or the depth of discharge.

Where do I find the usable capacity number?

In the maker's specification sheet, the owner's manual, or occasionally in the listing's bullet list. If the listing does not state it, the maker's page is the source to check.

Is the rated watt-hour figure useless?

No. It is the maker's capacity rating for the battery and the figure most listings use. It is just not the figure you will draw from the outlets, so it is a starting point for comparison, not a promise.

Does a larger rated number mean a larger usable number?

In general, yes, a unit with a larger rated capacity has a larger usable capacity, but the ratio between them is set by the maker. Compare units on the same basis: the stated usable capacity when the maker gives one.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides