FloridaBackupPower

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

IP Rating for Power Stations: Know What It Means

Short answer: A power station listing may state an IP code such as IP54 or IP65. The first digit states the enclosure's dust resistance and the second digit states its water resistance, on the scale the seller uses. A higher digit means the listing claims more resistance, but the code never promises that you can run a station in rain or floodwater. Read the maker's manual for the storage and operating conditions, choose a level for where you keep the unit, and compare it against the other stated details on the listing.

What the two digits on a listing state

An IP code on a power station listing is a two-digit number, for example IP54 or IP65. The letters stand for Ingress Protection, and the two digits state how much dust and water the maker claims the enclosure resists. The first digit is the dust code, the second digit is the water code.

The dust digit runs from 0 to 6, per the standard that defines the codes. A 5 states that dust is not completely excluded but that a harmful deposit is stated not to occur inside. A 6 states that the enclosure is stated to be dust tight. The water digit runs from 0 to 8, and each level states resistance to a different kind of water: splashes, jets, powerful jets, temporary immersion, and continuous immersion.

These digits belong to an international standard for enclosures. On a listing, they are the seller's stated details, not a promise of any outcome. The maker's manual is the document that states the operating and storage conditions for the specific unit.

IP codes that commonly appear on power station listings

Portable power station listings commonly carry one of three codes: IP20, IP54 or IP65, with IP67 appearing on some units. IP20 states limited dust resistance and no stated water resistance. IP54 states resistance to dust and to splashes. IP65 states dust-tight resistance and resistance to water jets. These are the codes you will see on the guides on this site.

Where the code appears depends on the listing. The title may show it, as in a model named with the digits, or the bullet list may state it. A station sold as a solar generator often carries a higher second digit because the unit is meant to be used outside while charging from a panel. A station described for home use may carry IP20.

If the listing does not state a code, that detail is simply not stated by the seller. The maker's page may state it, and the manual always states the conditions for the unit.

What an IP rating does not state

The rating describes the enclosure only. It does not state that the unit can be run in rain, standing water or a flooded area, and it says nothing about heat, humidity or charging conditions. This site gives no advice about running or charging any power station in rain, standing water or flooded areas. The maker's manual lists the temperature range and the storage conditions.

For storm preparation, the sources for this article include the Florida Division of Emergency Management's Plan & Prepare page, the National Weather Service's hurricane safety pages, and the CDC's hurricane preparation page. Bookmark them before the season and read the supply checklist page from the Florida Division of Emergency Management, which lists what to keep on hand.

Choosing a level for your situation

Choose the level for the place where you will keep the station between seasons, not just for the day you use it. The manual states the storage conditions; the IP code is the detail on the listing that helps you compare models for that purpose. Read power station battery storage tips for the storage questions the manual answers.

In an apartment, the station usually stays indoors, and a listing with IP20 is enough for that stated purpose. In a house with a garage or a covered porch, you may prefer a listing that states IP54 or higher, so that the stated resistance matches the storage place the manual describes. A station with a solar panel in the box is often carried outside for charging, and the listing may state a higher water digit.

The code is one detail among many. Capacity in watt-hours, continuous AC output in watts, the battery chemistry (LiFePO4 is the common listing term), and whether the box includes a panel all matter for the job the station will do. Read power station watts versus watt-hours to separate capacity from output, and read power station temperature limit and power station hot weather derating for the manual questions about Florida heat. Then compare stated details in the best portable power stations for hurricanes guide.

IP codes on generators and power stations

Generator listings rarely state an IP code. A generator's enclosure is described with words such as open frame or inverter housing, and the manual states where the unit may be kept. Power station listings use IP codes because the unit has a sealed enclosure with ports and vents. The two product kinds therefore read differently, and the IP code is not a comparison point between them.

If you are choosing between a generator and a power station, compare the stated details that each kind uses. For a generator, that means the housing words and the manual's storage conditions; for a power station, that means the IP code and the manual. The generator-side article inverter versus standard generator and the generator IP rating explained article cover the generator side of the same question. For generator picks, see the best inverter generators for Florida neighborhoods guide.

Where the rating sits in a listing

Read the title first. If the seller puts IP54 in the title, the rating is a headline detail. If the title does not show it, read the bullet list. If neither states it, the detail is not stated, and you can move on to the manual and the maker's page.

Points to check when reading a listing:

  • The two digits in the code on the title or bullet list.
  • The capacity in watt-hours and the continuous AC output in watts.
  • The battery chemistry, usually stated as LiFePO4, and whether the box includes a solar panel.
  • The temperature range and storage conditions in the manual.
  • What the listing does not state.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You live in an apartment and will keep the station indoorsA station with a low water digit, such as IP20, where the listing states itBest Power Station for Apartments (2026): 15 Picks
You will store the station in a garage or covered porch as the manual describes itA listing that states IP54 or higherBest Portable Power Stations for Hurricanes (2026): 15 Picks
You want a station with a solar panel in the box, for outdoor chargingA listing that states IP54 or IP65Best Solar Generators for Florida (2026): 13 Picks
You compare a generator and a power station and see no IP code on the generator listingRead the generator housing terms and the power station's code separatelyBest Backup Power for Florida (2026): Best Generator for Florida Homes
You want a large-capacity station for home backup and the listing states a high water digitA station from the large-capacity guides, checking the stated codeBest 3000Wh Power Stations for Home Backup (2026): 15 Picks

Questions

What does the first digit in an IP code state?

The first digit is the dust code, from 0 to 6. A 5 states that dust is not completely excluded but that a harmful deposit is stated not to occur inside. A 6 states that the enclosure is stated to be dust tight.

What does the second digit state?

The second digit is the water code, from 0 to 8. The code states resistance to splashes, jets, powerful jets, temporary immersion or continuous immersion, depending on the digit.

Is a higher IP code always better for a power station?

A higher digit states more resistance, but the code is one detail. The manual states the operating and storage conditions for the specific unit, and that is the document to read before you decide.

Can I run a power station in the rain if the listing states IP67?

This site gives no advice about running any unit in rain, standing water or flooded areas. The maker's manual and the storm pages in the sources are where to read that.

Where is the IP rating on a listing?

On the title, in the bullet list, or on the maker's page. Some model names include the digits. If none of them states it, the detail is not stated.

Do generator listings state IP ratings?

Usually not. Generators are described with housing words such as open frame or inverter. The IP code is a detail that appears on power station listings, not a comparison point between the two kinds.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides