Washing Machine Generator: Sizing for Laundry
Short answer: To plan backup power for a washing machine, find two numbers: the machine's running watts and the higher starting watts its motor draws as the drum spins up. Generator listings usually put the starting figure first; power station listings state continuous AC output and capacity in watt-hours. The label on the washer lists volts and amps, which multiply to watts. This site does not size washers; read the label, the maker's page and the manual, then compare listings on stated details.
Why the washing machine comes up in backup power planning
During an outage, a household often wants to keep the basics working: lights, a refrigerator, and the ability to wash clothes. A washing machine is a motor-driven appliance, and motors behave differently from steady-draw devices. The machine draws a higher amount of power for an instant as the motor starts, then settles to a lower level while the cycle runs.
For a buyer comparing backup power, the question is not a single number. It is two numbers: the machine's running watts and its starting watts. Both should come from the washing machine's label and the maker's manual, not from a guide.
This article explains the terms that appear on generator and power station listings, and why this site does not state a wattage for a washer. The Florida Division of Emergency Management pages in the sources answer the broader prep questions for the season.
Starting watts and running watts on a motor
A motor needs a brief surge of power when it begins to turn, then a lower level while it runs. That surge is the starting watts, sometimes called surge or peak; the steady level is the running watts. A washing machine label states the running draw, and the manual's specification table states the starting figure.
Generator listings state both starting watts and running watts. The first figure in a title is often the starting figure. A running-watts figure is what the unit can supply continuously; the starting figure is the brief peak it can supply for motor loads. The EIA explains that electricity is measured in watts, a unit of power; a kilowatt is 1,000 watts.
The watt figure on a generator listing is the unit's output, not the washer's draw. The washer's draw is on the washer. Keeping those two separate avoids the wrong conclusion. For the term-level comparison, see generator running versus starting watts and power station peak versus continuous watts.
What the washing machine label shows
The machine's nameplate is the starting point. It lists volts, amps, or watts. When only volts and amps appear, the manual or the maker's website gives the wattage. The label may not show the starting surge; that figure appears in the manual's specification table.
Read the washer from the maker's page, not from a guide that promises a fixed wattage. The same model can draw differently depending on the cycle and the load size, so the only reliable figures are the ones on the label and in the manual.
What neither listing states: neither a generator listing nor a power station listing states the wattage of your washing machine. The listing states the unit's own output or capacity. Matching the two is a reader task: read the washer label and the unit's stated figures.
Some listings say "Home Backup" or "Whole House" in the title; those are the seller's words and do not tell you whether the unit powers a washer.
What generator listings state for a laundry load
A portable generator listing shows a watts figure, often with running watts in the title or in the bullet list. The title's first figure is typically the starting watts, which covers the motor surge. A dual-fuel or tri-fuel listing adds fuel choices, not output; the fuel type does not change the stated watts.
The running-watts figure is the one that matters for steady use; the starting figure matters for the first seconds. A title that leads with a large number is usually stating the peak, not the continuous output. Inverter generator listings are usually sold by a watt class and a continuous output figure.
A standby generator listing names a dealer and an installer; the maker and a licensed electrician decide the load, not a guide. For shopping comparisons, see the 3000 to 5000 watt generator guide, the inverter generator guide for Florida neighborhoods, the dual fuel generator guide, the tri fuel generator guide, and the standby generator guide.
What power station listings state for a laundry load
A portable power station listing states capacity in watt-hours and continuous AC output in watts. The peak output, sometimes called surge, appears in the listing too. For a motor load, the continuous AC output is the figure to compare with the washer's running watts, and the peak output with the starting watts.
Watt-hours describe stored energy, not output. A unit with large watt-hours but small continuous AC output cannot supply the surge a motor needs; a unit with large output but small watt-hours will drain quickly. The listing states both; the maker's page explains the relationship.
LiFePO4, expandable battery and UPS are listing words that describe the battery chemistry, expansion options, and the unit's switchover capability; they are not output ratings. A "solar generator" listing is a power station that includes or accepts a solar panel; it is still a battery unit with stated watt-hours and AC output.
See power station watts versus watt-hours and power station UPS mode for the term-level details. For shopping, compare the portable power station guide for hurricanes, the 3000Wh power station guide, and the apartment power station guide.
Why this site does not state a wattage for a washer
This site compares generator and power station listings on stated details. It does not publish a table that says a particular wattage runs a washing machine, because the machine's draw depends on its own label, the cycle, and the household wiring.
The reader's step is to read the washer label and the maker's manual, and to ask a licensed electrician about the load in the home. For a standby generator, the installer and the local permit office decide the connection. For any generator, follow the maker's manual and read the generator-safety pages from the Florida Division of Emergency Management and the CPSC, linked in the sources.
The Florida Division of Emergency Management generator-safety page tells a reader when a generator may not be needed, such as in apartments, condos and high-rise buildings, and to check with building management or local regulations. The county emergency management office and the Florida Division of Emergency Management publish the local prep information; a guide cannot replace those pages.
- Read the washer label for volts, amps, or watts.
- Find the running watts and the starting watts in the manual's specification table.
- Compare the unit listing's continuous output and peak output with those two figures.
- Ask a licensed electrician about the load in the home.
- Follow the maker's manual for the unit you buy.
Where laundry fits in storm preparation
Before hurricane season, the Florida Division of Emergency Management asks households to build a disaster supply kit and to check the county emergency management program for local details. The supply checklist page and the county pages answer what to keep on hand.
For a household that plans to run a washer after an outage, the steps are the same as for any appliance: read the machine label, compare the unit listing, and ask the electrician about the load. For apartments and condos, the building management decides what backup power solutions exist; the Florida Division of Emergency Management page says to check with building management or local regulations.
The National Weather Service publishes a before-the-storm checklist that includes checking emergency equipment such as generators; the CDC hurricane page lists the same prep steps. Bookmark those pages before the season, as the sources list them.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You live in a house and want a portable generator for motor loads like a washer | A portable generator with stated starting and running watts | Best 3000 to 5000 Watt Generators for Hurricanes (2026): 13 Picks |
| You have close neighbors and want an inverter unit for a neighborhood | An inverter generator | Best Inverter Generators for Florida (2026): 15 Picks |
| You want fuel choice alongside output | A dual-fuel or tri-fuel generator | Best Dual Fuel Generator for Florida (2026): 15 Picks |
| You want a three-fuel option for hurricane season | A tri-fuel generator | Best Tri Fuel Generators for Hurricane Season (2026): 15 Picks |
| You live in an apartment or condo and are comparing battery units | A portable power station | Best Power Station for Apartments (2026): 15 Picks |
| You want a large battery unit for longer runs | A 3000Wh-class power station | Best 3000Wh Power Stations for Home Backup (2026): 15 Picks |
| You want a permanent whole-home unit installed by a dealer | A standby generator | Best Standby Generators for Florida (2026): 10 Picks |
Questions
What is the difference between starting watts and running watts?
A motor draws a brief surge, the starting watts, when it begins to turn, then settles to the running watts. Generator listings often show both; the first figure in the title is usually the starting figure.
Does the washing machine label always show the wattage?
The label lists volts and amps, and sometimes watts. When only volts and amps appear, the maker's manual gives the wattage. The starting surge appears in the manual's specification table.
Can a solar generator run a washing machine?
A 'solar generator' listing is a power station with a solar input. This site does not size a washer; compare the unit's continuous AC output with the washer's running watts from the label and the manual.
What does the first watt figure in a generator title mean?
The first figure is often the starting watts, the brief peak the unit can supply for motor loads. The running-watts figure appears later in the listing.
Do I need a generator or a power station for laundry?
The right choice depends on the washer label, the unit's stated output, and the place where you live. The guides compare both kinds on stated details.
Who decides how a standby generator is connected?
The maker, the installer, and the local permit office decide the connection. A licensed electrician handles the load questions.
Recent updates
- : First published.
Sources
- Florida Division of Emergency Management: Plan & Prepare
- Florida Division of Emergency Management: Disaster Supply Kit Checklist
- Florida Division of Emergency Management: Generator Safety
- National Weather Service: Hurricane Safety Tips and Resources
- National Weather Service: What to Do Before the Tropical Storm or Hurricane
- CDC: Preparing for Hurricanes or Other Tropical Storms
- EIA: Measuring electricity
- CPSC: Generators and Engine-Driven Tools