FloridaBackupPower

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Generator Continuous vs Standby Rating Explained

Short answer: A generator listing usually shows two watt figures: a continuous rating, also called running watts, for sustained output, and a standby or peak rating for short bursts when a motor starts. A power station lists the same pair as continuous AC output and peak output. Read both, compare the continuous figures for sustained use, and treat any unstated figure as a maker question.

Two figures on nearly every listing

Generator listings usually carry two watt figures rather than one. The continuous rating, sometimes labeled running watts, describes the output the unit is built to hold for sustained use according to the maker's specification. The standby rating, sometimes labeled peak, surge, or starting watts, describes a higher output for a short burst. The burst matters at the moment a motor in an appliance starts, because a motor draws extra power briefly before settling.

Portable power stations show the same pair in different words: a continuous AC output and a peak output figure. The continuous figure is the reading figure for any use that lasts, while the peak figure describes a brief moment. The peak vs continuous output article covers the power station side of the pair.

Which figure the listing leads with

Listing titles often lead with the larger number because it reads bigger in a search results row. When a title shows two figures, the first is usually the standby or peak figure and the second the continuous figure, but the order is the seller's choice, not a rule. When a title shows one figure, that figure is often the larger standby number, and the continuous figure may appear in the bullet list or the specification table.

The same pairing appears on the appliance side. An appliance label lists its own watt figures, and the difference shows why the generator pair exists. The running watts vs starting watts article explains the same pairing from the appliance point of view.

Reading the specification sheet in general terms

The specification sheet is where the pair usually appears as two labeled numbers. Look for continuous output or running watts, and peak, surge, or starting watts. Some sheets state only one of the two, which leaves the pair incomplete. A missing figure is not a sign that the other figure matters less; it is a question for the maker.

A power station sheet states the continuous AC output, the peak output, and a capacity in watt-hours. Watts and watt-hours measure different things: watts describe power drawn at a moment, and watt-hours describe how much energy the battery holds. The watts vs watt-hours article and the EIA measuring electricity page (linked in sources) explain the distinction.

Two figures, two meanings
TermWhat it describesWhat it does not describe
Continuous output or running wattsThe output the unit is built to hold for sustained use per the maker's specIt does not state runtime, fuel use, or which appliances will run
Standby, peak, surge, or starting wattsA higher output for a short burst when a motor startsIt is not the figure to compare for sustained use
Watt-hours (power stations)The energy capacity of the batteryIt is not the output drawn at a single moment

Language differs between makers

Maker spec sheets do not all use the same pair of labels. Some write running watts and starting watts, some write continuous watts and peak watts, and standby generators from an installer may list a single standby rating on the spec sheet. The underlying idea is the same: one sustained figure and one shorter burst figure. When the labels are different, the figures themselves still answer the same reading question.

The same is true on power station listings. A maker may list continuous AC output and peak output, or operating watts and surge watts. Some listings also state the watt-hour capacity, which is a third figure that measures energy stored, not momentary output. The peak vs continuous watts article covers that pair for power stations.

What the two figures do not cover

Neither figure tells you how long a unit can run, how much fuel it uses, or whether a particular appliance will run on it. Those are questions for the maker's manual and the maker's own specification pages. The figures are reading tools for comparing listings. They are not a plan for a specific home, and this site does not size a home or match units to appliances.

The appliance label is the other half of the reading. Appliances carry their own watt figures, and an electrician can discuss loads for a specific home. The maker can answer questions about a specific unit. When you compare generators, the best 3000 to 5000 watt generators guide treats the continuous figure as the reading figure.

The same caution applies to power stations. The continuous AC output and the watt-hour capacity are stated details, and neither one predicts which appliances will run or for how long. The portable power stations for hurricanes guide compares power stations on their stated details.

Why the distinction matters before hurricane season

For a Florida household preparing for hurricane season, the distinction changes how the two figures read. A unit with a large standby figure and a smaller continuous figure is still a unit whose sustained output is the continuous figure. Comparing continuous figures across listings gives a useful reading; comparing only the largest figure does not.

The Florida Division of Emergency Management publishes preparation steps on its plan and prepare pages, the National Weather Service publishes a before-the-storm checklist, and the generator safety page tells apartment and condo residents to check with building management and local regulations about what backup power is already in place. All three pages are linked in sources.

For a house, the county emergency management office is the place for local answers. For a rental, the landlord is the person to ask. For a condo or apartment, the best power stations for apartments guide compares battery units by stated capacity, and the best backup power for Florida guide weighs both product kinds for the same shopping decision.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want a generator and will read the continuous figure before the standby figureA 3000 to 5000 watt class portable generatorBest 3000 to 5000 Watt Generators for Hurricanes (2026): 13 Picks
You plan to shop for an inverter-type generatorAn inverter generator guideBest Inverter Generators for Florida (2026): 15 Picks
You compare a power station and want the continuous AC output as the reading figureA portable power station for hurricanesBest Portable Power Stations for Hurricanes (2026): 15 Picks
You want a larger battery capacity in the 3000Wh classA 3000Wh power stationBest 3000Wh Power Stations for Home Backup (2026): 15 Picks
You weigh a generator against a power station before buyingThe main backup power guideBest Backup Power for Florida (2026): Best Generator for Florida Homes
You live in an apartment or condo and compare battery unitsA power station for apartmentsBest Power Station for Apartments (2026): 15 Picks

Questions

Is the continuous rating the same as running watts?

Yes. On generator listings the two labels describe the same figure: the output a unit is built to hold for sustained use per the maker's spec. Standby, peak, surge, and starting watts describe the higher short-burst figure.

Do power stations have a standby rating?

Power stations list a continuous AC output and a peak output. Compare the continuous figure for any use that lasts; the peak figure describes a short burst.

What if a listing shows only one watt figure?

That figure is often the standby or peak number, because it is larger. Check the bullet list and the specification table for the continuous figure, and ask the maker if the figure is not stated.

Do standby generators from an installer use the same pair of ratings?

Home standby generator spec sheets often list one standby rating, because the unit is sized for a home's expected full load. The installer and the maker decide the load rating, and this site does not size a home.

Can this site match a generator or power station to my appliances?

No. The site compares stated details in listings but does not size a home or match units to appliances. Read the appliance label, and ask the maker or an electrician about loads.

How do I read an appliance label with watts and starting watts?

Learn articles explain terms only, not sizing. Read the appliance label for its own figures, and ask the maker or an electrician how a specific unit fits the appliance.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides