FloridaBackupPower

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

What Size Generator Do You Need for Camping?

Short answer: A generator listing states its watts as starting and running figures; the appliance label on the RV, trailer, cooler, or charger states what each item draws. This article explains those listing terms for camping trips in Florida, compares a fuel-powered generator with a battery power station, and points to the matching buying guides. The site does not promise what a watt figure will run; read the appliance label and the maker's page, and check the safety pages listed at the end before you buy.

What a camping listing states about wattage

A camping generator or portable power station listing states two different kinds of figures. A fuel-powered generator names its watts as a starting figure and a running figure. A power station names its capacity in watt-hours and its continuous AC output in watts. Knowing which figure the title shows is most of the shopping work.

The EIA explains that electricity is measured in watts and kilowatts; watts measure the rate of use at a moment. That page is linked at the end of this article.

What a listing does not state is what a given figure will run at a campsite. The appliance label on the RV, trailer, cooler, or charger states its own watts. Read that label next to the listing figure and let the maker's page answer the rest.

Starting watts and running watts on a generator title

Generator listings usually give two watt figures. Starting watts, sometimes called surge or peak, is the higher figure a motor needs for the first moments. Running watts, sometimes called rated or continuous, is what the unit provides steadily. The site's article on running versus starting watts explains the pair in more detail.

The first figure in a generator title is often the starting figure; the second is often the running figure. For an RV air conditioner or a trailer refrigerator, the starting figure is the one to compare at the moment the compressor begins.

This site does not state what size is needed for a specific camper. Check the label on the appliance and the maker's generator page, then compare the figures the listing states.

Fuel terms on a camping generator listing

A camping generator listing may name one fuel or two. Gasoline is a fuel made from crude oil and other petroleum liquids, as the EIA describes. A listing that says dual fuel names two fuels, often gasoline plus propane; the dual fuel versus single fuel article reads that pair.

Propane is one of the hydrocarbon gas liquids that occur as gases at atmospheric pressure and turn to liquid under pressure, per the EIA page linked at the end. A tri fuel listing names three fuels, adding natural gas; the tri fuel options article explains the third fuel.

Which fuel you can bring to a campsite is your shopping question. The listing states what it takes; the maker's manual states handling and storage.

Power station terms for a campsite

A portable power station is a battery unit. Its listing states capacity in watt-hours, the total energy stored, and a continuous AC output in watts, the rate it can supply to an outlet. The article on power station watts versus watt-hours explains the difference.

Camping-oriented listings may also state a solar panel in the box or a panel sold separately, a LiFePO4 battery chemistry, a count of AC outlets, and USB-C ports. These are listing words; each describes what the box contains or what the unit accepts.

A listing that calls the unit a solar generator means it can take solar input, not that it produces power from a panel by itself. The panel, if any, is named in the listing.

Campsite, park, and building questions

Where you camp shapes the choice between a fuel-powered generator and a battery unit. A campground, an RV park, or a condominium building may have its own rules; ask the campground host, the park office, or the building manager which backup power units are allowed.

The Florida Division of Emergency Management notes that apartments, condos, and high-rise buildings may not need a generator and may already have backup power in place; check with building management or local rules. Its generator safety page is linked at the end.

The inverter versus standard generator article reads the type words a listing states; the choice between types is part of your shopping, not a claim this site makes.

What the camping wattage answer does not include

This site does not promise that a watt figure runs an air conditioner, a cooler, a fan, or any specific camper appliance, and it does not publish runtime, charge time, or fuel-use hours. Those figures belong to the appliance label and the maker's specifications.

Before buying a fuel-powered generator, follow the maker's manual and read the CPSC, CDC, and Florida Division of Emergency Management pages linked at the end of this article, including the article on generator carbon monoxide safety.

Where camping picks sit in the Florida guides

The site's guides compare generators and power stations on stated listing details: watts, fuel, capacity, outlets, and included items. A camping reader will find a fit in those guides.

Battery units appear in the portable power stations for hurricanes guide. Fuel-powered units appear in the 3000 to 5000 watt generators guide and the inverter generator guide.

For a camper who also wants backup power at home during hurricane season, the same units appear in the site's best backup power for Florida guide.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You camp in an RV or trailer with a 30-amp or 50-amp inlet and want a fuel-powered unitA portable generator with the matching outletBest 3000 to 5000 Watt Generators for Hurricanes (2026): 13 Picks
You camp in a tent or small trailer and want a battery unitA portable power stationBest Portable Power Stations for Hurricanes (2026): 15 Picks
You want a generator that names two fuels in the titleA dual fuel generatorBest Dual Fuel Generator for Florida (2026): 15 Picks
You want a generator type listed as an inverterAn inverter generatorBest Inverter Generators for Florida (2026): 15 Picks
You want a battery unit in the entry size windowA power station in the entry windowBest Power Station Under $500 for Florida (2026): 7 Picks
You want a battery unit you can pair with a solar panelA power station with solar inputBest Solar Generators for Florida (2026): 13 Picks

Questions

What is the difference between starting watts and running watts on a camping generator?

Starting watts, sometimes called surge or peak, is the higher figure a motor needs at start; running watts is what the unit provides steadily. The first figure in a generator title is often the starting figure. See the running versus starting watts article.

Can a portable power station run an RV air conditioner?

The site does not promise that any watt figure runs a specific appliance. Read the label on the air conditioner and the maker's power station page, then compare the continuous AC output stated in the listing.

Is a solar generator a good pickup for camping?

Solar generator is a listing word for a power station that takes solar input. A listing states whether a panel is in the box or sold separately. The solar generator guide compares units with that wording.

What fuel words should I read on a camping generator title?

Gasoline is one fuel. Dual fuel names two, often gasoline and propane. Tri fuel names three, adding natural gas. The EIA pages on gasoline and hydrocarbon gas liquids explain the first two; the maker's manual explains handling.

Where do I check the rules for a generator at a campsite or RV park?

Ask the campground host, the park office, or the building manager. The Florida Division of Emergency Management notes that apartments, condos, and high-rise buildings may already have backup solutions; check with building management or local rules.

Does this site state how long a unit will run at a campsite?

No. The site does not publish runtime, charge time, or fuel-use hours. Read the maker's manual and specifications for those figures.

What safety pages should I read before buying a fuel-powered generator?

Follow the maker's manual and read the Florida Division of Emergency Management generator safety page, the CPSC generator page, and the CDC carbon monoxide page, all linked at the end of this article.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides